West Virginia AFL-CIO

Contact WV AFL-CIO Staff

Every member of our staff is here to assist YOU. 
Call (304) 344-3557, or send us e-mail wvaflcio@wvaflcio.org

Kenneth M. Perdue     President     kperdue@wvaflcio.org
Kenneth M. Perdue

Kenny has been active in the AFL-CIO and central labor councils since 1977,and an active member of the Sheet Metal Workers International Association for over 30 years.  He was elected to the West Virginia AFL-CIO's Executive Board following the retirement of his father from the board in 1989.       A second generation union sheet metal worker, with three brothers also working in the trade, he was elected as a Business Representative for his local union.  He served as Secretary-Treasurer of the West Virginia AFL-CIO from 1997 until August 16, 2004, when he became President upon the retirement of the former president.

Joshua D. Sword        Secretary-Treasurer jsword@wvaflcio.org

Josh started working in the labor movement in 1999 when he was hired as member benefits coordinator for AFT-West Virginia.  In 2004, AFT-West Virginia moved him to the newly created position of political director, a position responsible for lobbying and running political campaigns.  Beginning in 2005 and ending in 2008, Josh helped develop and coordinate a retirement campaign in which over 15,000 education employees were allowed to transfer from a defined contribution plan to a defined benefit retirement plan.  In 2008, Josh was appointed to the PEIA Finance Board to represent education employees by Governor Manchin, a position he maintains today.  While working for AFT-West Virginia, Josh was a member of the CWA, Local 2001, and participated in activities sponsored by the Kanawha Valley Labor Council.  In October, 2012, he was appointed by the West Virginia AFL-CIO Executive Board to fill the unexpired term of retiring Secretary-Treasurer Larry Matheney.  He was sworn in January 2, 2013.   

Cheri Walker    Administrative Assistant to the Secretary-Treasurer  cwalker@wvaflcio.org
Cheri Walker
OPEIU #457
Cheri began working with us at the end of 1997.  She previously has worked for AFSCME.
Dena Fields    Resource Specialist   dfields@wvaflcio.org
Dena Fields

Sherry Breeden    Administrative Assistant to the President, Political Director/Mobilizer  sbreeden@wvaflcio.org

Sherry Breeden

West Virginia AFL-CIO Vice-Presidents

Bob Brown -- American Federation of Teachers

Christine Campbell -- American Federation of Teachers
Contact: cjcampbell@aftwv.org

Mike Caputo -- United Mine Workers of America
Contact: mikeumwa@aol.com

Joe Carter -- United Mine Workers of America
Contact: jcarter@umwa.org  

Dan Doyle -- American Federation of Government Employees

Dave Efaw -- WV State Building Trades
Contact: daveefaw@wvsbt.org

Elaine Harris -- Communications Workers of America
Contact: eharris@cwa-union.org

Kathy McCormick -- Service Employees International Union
Contact: kmccormick@seiu1199.org

Chuck Miller -- United Food & Commercial Workers

Randy Moore -- United Steelworkers
Contact: rmoore@usw.org

Tommy Plymale -- International Union of Operating Engineers
Contact: tplymale@wvdsl.net

Danny Poling -- International Union of Painters & Allied Trades
Contact: danpoling1144@yahoo.com

Vern Swisher -- United Steelworkers
Contact: vswisher@ma.rr.com

Gary Tillis -- Laborers’ International Union of North America
Contact: garytillis@wvldc.org


501 Leon Sullivan Way, Charleston, WV 25301    (304) 344-3557   Fax: (304) 344-3550  wvaflcio@wvaflcio.org